Backlog Policy Comparison: 8 IT Companies 2026
TCS, Infosys, Wipro, Cognizant, Accenture, Capgemini, HCLTech, Tech Mahindra backlog policy 2026 compared: active backlogs, history, CGPA floor, gap rules.
on this page§ 10

Why one comparison page, not eight separate ones
Search demand around backlogs is scattered: some students ask which companies are strict about a history of arrears, some ask what happens with an active backlog during interviews, and some ask a company-specific question with their exact CGPA. The per-company pages on PapersAdda answer each of these in depth, but none of them let you scan all eight recruiters at once. This page pulls the settled facts from those pages into one table, keeps every hedge the source page used (candidate reports, official pages, or not published at all), and flags the two places where PapersAdda's own pages disagree with each other rather than picking a winner silently.
Read this as a starting filter, not a final answer. Every cell that matters to your own application should be re-checked against your specific drive notice before you decide whether to apply.
The backlog policy comparison table
| Company | Active backlog at application | Active backlog at joining | History of backlogs (cleared) | Where to confirm |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| TCS (Ninja/Digital) | Allowed if cleared before joining, based on candidate reports | Zero, offer reported to be revoked if any remains | Generally permitted, no blanket rejection reported; individual offer letters may cap the count | TCS backlog policy |
| Infosys | Not published, confirm on the drive notice | Not published, confirm on the drive notice | Not published, confirm on the drive notice | Infosys backlog policy |
| Wipro (Elite NTH/Turbo/WILP) | Zero at the time of applying, based on candidate reports | Zero, based on candidate reports | Cleared backlog reported to not disqualify | Wipro eligibility criteria |
| Cognizant (GenC/Pro/Next) | Zero active arrears at application and test, based on candidate reports plus one campus brochure | Zero at document verification and joining, based on candidate reports | No public count cap; judged through aggregate, marksheets and document verification | Cognizant backlog policy |
| Accenture (ASE/Advanced) | Zero in many drives, based on candidate reports (exact stage varies by campus mail) | Zero standing arrears, a norm based on candidate reports | Usually less risky than active; PapersAdda's gap-year comparison notes some batches report a "no history of backlogs" line, confirm your drive | Accenture backlog and gap policy |
| Capgemini (Analyst/Exceller/GCPE) | Safest reading is zero, based on candidate reports; one public prep resource cites a maximum of 1 at application, not an official Capgemini figure, so treat it as unsafe | Zero standing arrears, based on candidate reports | Usually treated more softly if marksheets are clean and the aggregate floor is met | Capgemini backlog policy, Capgemini eligibility |
| HCLTech (graduate/engineer hiring) | Not published on a standing page; the official careers page did not return usable content when checked in September 2026 | Not published, confirm on the drive notice | Not published, confirm on the drive notice | HCL TechBee eligibility (a separate 12th-pass programme, see note below) |
| Tech Mahindra | Typically zero at the time of applying, based on candidate reports | Same, confirm the JD | Cleared backlog reported to generally not disqualify | Tech Mahindra eligibility |
Every cell above is based on candidate reports unless marked "not published." None of these eight companies publish an official, standing, first-party page that states a numeric backlog rule PapersAdda could independently verify. TCS's own eligibility page notes that tcs.com and the NextStep portal both block automated access; Infosys's careers page returned a 403 error when fetched directly in September 2026; Capgemini's and Tech Mahindra's careers pages loaded but stated no percentage, CGPA, or backlog figure at all.
Note on HCLTech and TechBee: HCLTech's graduate and engineer hiring track has no dedicated PapersAdda backlog page and no fetchable eligibility criteria as of this writing. HCL TechBee is a different programme entirely: it hires school-leavers straight after Class 12, not degree graduates, and its own eligibility page explicitly declines to state a percentage or backlog number, directing every applicant to the live portal instead. Do not use TechBee figures as a proxy for HCLTech's graduate hiring.
Academic floor: CGPA and percentage side by side
| Company | Candidate-reported floor | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| TCS | 60% or 6.0 CGPA at 10th, 12th and degree individually | Candidate-reported, drive notices |
| Infosys | Not published | Infosys's own eligibility guidance deliberately states no cutoff |
| Wipro Elite NTH / WILP | 60% or 6.0 CGPA | Candidate-reported, Shiksha and AmbitionBox pattern |
| Wipro Turbo | 65% or 6.5 CGPA | Candidate-reported, higher-performing track |
| Cognizant GenC/Pro/Next | 60% commonly cited safe target | Candidate-reported |
| Accenture ASE | 60% or 6.0 CGPA common; some 2026 role signals report 6.5 CGPA | Candidate-reported, batch variation flagged in source page |
| Capgemini | 60% or 6.0 CGPA across 10th, 12th/diploma and UG | Candidate-reported working estimate |
| HCLTech | Not published | No fetchable standing criteria as of September 2026 |
| Tech Mahindra | Roughly 60% or about 6.0 CGPA | Candidate-reported |
The 60% or 6.0 CGPA line shows up across six of the eight companies as a floor based on candidate reports, but it is applied individually at 10th, 12th, and degree by every source that specifies this, not as an average. A 72% degree aggregate does not offset a 58% Class 12 score at any company that reports this rule.
Education gap: what each company's own page reports
| Company | Candidate-reported gap ceiling | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| TCS | Up to 2 years cumulative, Class 10 to graduation | Candidate-reported, TCS eligibility and backlog source pages agree |
| Infosys | Not stated on any Infosys-specific PapersAdda page; a general IT-companies comparison estimates a 2 year total cap | Candidate-reported estimate, not company-specific |
| Wipro | Elite NTH and Turbo: up to 1 year. WILP: up to 2 years | Candidate-reported |
| Cognizant | Older GenC Pro notes flag more than 1 year as risky; a general comparison estimates a 2 year total cap | Candidate-reported, confirm current posting |
| Accenture | 1 year commonly reported as safe; 2 years treated as drive-sensitive | Candidate-reported |
| Capgemini | Sources disagree, see note below | Candidate-reported, conflicting figures |
| HCLTech | Not stated on an HCLTech-specific page; a general comparison estimates up to 2 years with a gap letter and supporting proof | Candidate-reported estimate, not company-specific |
| Tech Mahindra | Sources disagree, see note below | Candidate-reported, conflicting figures |
Education gap: where reports disagree
For two companies, candidate reports put the education-gap limit in different places. Both versions are given here rather than one being picked silently:
Capgemini. The Capgemini eligibility page says a 1 to 2 year education gap "may be tolerated when explained with documents," based on candidate reports. The gap year comparison across IT companies lists Capgemini with no specified academic-gap cap and a 3 year post-qualification cap, "HR discretion," no formal document required. Both are estimates based on candidate reports from different aggregation passes: neither is an official Capgemini number. If your own gap sits between 1 and 3 years, do not rely on either figure. Get the specific drive's stance from your placement cell or the recruiter in writing.
Tech Mahindra. The Tech Mahindra eligibility page reports "Generally up to 1 year tolerated" for education gap. The gap year comparison lists Tech Mahindra with no specified academic-gap cap and a 3 year post-qualification cap under HR discretion. Same pattern as Capgemini: two estimates based on candidate reports that do not match. A 2-year gap applicant should ask directly rather than assume either figure applies.
What to do if you have backlogs right now
Zero active, zero history. You clear the backlog filter at every company in this table. Your remaining risk is the academic percentage floor and any education gap. Check both.
Zero active, 1 to 3 cleared (history). Candidate reports across TCS, Wipro, Cognizant, Accenture, and Capgemini describe this as generally acceptable. Keep every semester marksheet that shows the clearance, and be ready to state in one sentence when the backlog happened and when it cleared. Recruiters who ask are checking consistency, not punishing you for the backlog itself.
Zero active, 4 or more cleared (history). Same rule, heavier documentation load. Consolidate a single document with roll number, subject, fail date, and clearance date for every cleared backlog. A longer history invites a longer HR explanation, not automatic rejection, in every source reviewed here.
One active backlog, result expected before your joining date. This is the highest-leverage moment to act. Do not wait passively. Email the company's onboarding or HR contact as soon as you have an offer, attach your university's exam schedule, and ask in writing whether your joining date can be held pending the result. TCS candidate reports describe cases where proactive communication preserved the joining date and cases where silence led to revocation. Assume the same applies at every company in this table. None of them are reported to auto-extend without a request.
One active backlog with no clear resolution timeline. Do not apply to a drive whose notice states zero active backlogs at application unless you can truthfully answer zero. Confirm on your own drive notice before assuming an exception exists. Wait, clear the backlog, then apply in the next eligible cycle. Submitting a false "zero" on the form is a document-verification risk, not just an academic one.
Backlog plus an education gap together. Treat these as two separate filters that both have to clear, not one combined number. A cleared backlog and a documented 1-year gap can both pass the same drive; a 3-year gap will not become acceptable just because your backlog history is clean. Prepare proof for each independently: marksheets for the backlog, a certificate or affidavit for the gap.
How to read a company's drive notification without guessing
Every per-company source page reviewed for this comparison makes the same point in different words: read the actual notice, not a generic aggregator table, including this one. A few habits carry across all eight companies.
Separate the stages. Most notices distinguish application, assessment or test, document verification or offer, and joining. A rule at one stage (for example, being allowed to sit the test with a pending result) does not automatically apply at the next stage (joining, where zero active is the near-universal reported rule). Copy the notice's own stage language into your notes rather than assuming it carries forward.
Pin down the exact term used. "Active backlog," "standing arrear," "history of backlogs," and "cleared arrear" are used inconsistently across companies and even across drives at the same company. When a notice uses one of these terms, write down the definition it gives, if any, and do not substitute your own assumption.
Save the notice with its date and URL. Eligibility pages change between drives and even mid-cycle. A screenshot without a timestamp is hard to rely on later if a recruiter's answer does not match what you remember reading.
Ask the official contact for anything ambiguous, and keep the written reply. A verbal answer from a placement-cell WhatsApp group is not the same as a written confirmation from the company's own contact. If your situation does not fit the notice cleanly (for example, a backlog result due the week before joining), ask a specific, narrow question and keep the reply attached to the notice.
Do not trust a public prep-resource number over your own drive mail. Several companies in this comparison have at least one figure sourced only from a third-party prep site, not an official page. Capgemini's "Maximum 1 active backlog at application" is one such figure, flagged as unsafe to generalize in its own source page. Treat any number from a resource that is not the company's own drive communication as a starting estimate, never a guarantee.
WHAT PAPERSADDA THINKS
The honest state of backlog policy across Indian IT recruiting in 2026 is that almost none of it is officially published, and the parts based on candidate reports cluster tightly enough (zero active by joining, 60% or 6.0 CGPA, cleared history usually fine) that treating them as a working default is reasonable while you wait for your own drive notice. Where this comparison found two of PapersAdda's own pages disagreeing, on Capgemini and Tech Mahindra gap-year figures, we are stating both rather than quietly picking one, because neither is backed by an official company page and picking a winner would just be guessing with more confidence than the evidence supports. If you have an active backlog and a joining date on the calendar, the single highest-leverage action is not more test prep. It is a written email to the company's onboarding contact today. If your CGPA or percentage sits right at 60%, verify the exact conversion formula your university uses before a form auto-rejects you over a rounding difference nobody meant to introduce.
Related Resources
- TCS Backlog Policy 2026
- Infosys Backlog Policy 2026
- Wipro Eligibility Criteria 2026
- Cognizant Backlog Policy 2026
- Accenture Backlog and Gap Policy 2026
- Capgemini Backlog Policy 2026
- Capgemini Eligibility Criteria 2026
- HCL TechBee Eligibility 2026
- Tech Mahindra Eligibility Criteria 2026
- Gap Year Allowed in IT Companies 2026
- TCS Eligibility Criteria 2026
Frequently Asked Questions
Which IT companies accept active backlogs in 2026?
None of the eight companies compared here accept an active backlog at joining, based on candidate reports. TCS, Wipro, Cognizant, Accenture, Capgemini, and Tech Mahindra are also reported to require zero active backlogs even at the application or assessment stage. Infosys publishes no number either way. Its own eligibility notice must be read per drive. Confirm on your specific drive's wording before assuming any exception.
I have 3 backlogs and a 4.5 CGPA, can I apply to Infosys?
PapersAdda cannot state an Infosys cutoff because Infosys does not publish one on a standing page, so this comparison table marks every Infosys cell as not published: confirm on the drive notice. What can be said: a 4.5 CGPA (about 45%) sits below the 60% or 6.0 CGPA floor that candidate reports describe for nearly every other company in this table, and 3 active (uncleared) backlogs would fail the zero-active rule reported at TCS, Wipro, Cognizant, Accenture, Capgemini, and Tech Mahindra at the application stage. If your 3 backlogs are cleared history rather than active, that changes the picture. Read the exact wording on your Infosys requisition notice.
Is there a strict no history of arrears policy at any of these companies?
None of the eight companies in this comparison publishes an official standing page that rejects every candidate with any history of cleared backlogs. Candidate reports across TCS, Wipro, Cognizant, and Capgemini describe cleared backlog history as generally tolerated if the current aggregate and documents are in order. One exception worth flagging: PapersAdda's own gap-year comparison page notes that companies like Accenture specify "no history of backlogs" in some batches, based on candidate reports. That specific line does not appear in Accenture's dedicated backlog and gap policy page and is not consistent across all Accenture drives, so read your own offer letter and drive mail rather than assuming either way.
Are active backlogs allowed during the campus test or assessment itself?
Several companies allow you to sit the test or assessment with a backlog result still pending: TCS applicants describe this explicitly for the NQT, based on candidate reports. The stricter checkpoint is usually document verification and joining, where candidate reports across every company here describe a zero active backlog requirement. Do not assume permission to test means permission to join. These are treated as separate gates, so confirm on your own drive notice.
What percentage or CGPA keeps me eligible everywhere in this list?
Candidate reports converge on 60% or 6.0 CGPA at 10th, 12th, and degree as the floor most commonly cited for TCS, Wipro Elite NTH and WILP, Cognizant GenC routes, Capgemini, and Tech Mahindra. Wipro Turbo and some Accenture 2026 role signals are reported at 65% or 6.5 CGPA. Infosys and HCLTech publish no standing number. Confirm per drive. None of these figures are official company disclosures. They are patterns based on candidate reports.
How much education gap can I carry into these companies?
This is the least consistent field in the comparison, and reports disagree on Capgemini and Tech Mahindra specifically. See the education-gap section of this guide. As a general pattern based on candidate reports, TCS, Wipro Elite NTH, Cognizant, and Accenture cluster around a 1 to 2 year post-qualification gap ceiling, while Capgemini, HCLTech, and Tech Mahindra show wider or less consistent figures across sources. Treat every number here as a starting point, not a guarantee, and confirm on your drive notice.
Sources and review notesreviewed 14 Sept 2026
Official notices, candidate reports, offer documents, and editorial practice questions carry different confidence levels. The visible source list lets you inspect the evidence instead of relying on a blanket verification badge.
topic cluster
More resources in Guides & Resources
Use the category hub to browse similar questions, exam patterns, salary guides, and preparation resources related to this topic.
paid contributor programme
Sat this this year? Share your story, earn ₹500.
First-person experience reports help future candidates prep smarter. We pay verified contributors ₹500 via UPI per accepted story with byline.
Submit your story →ready to practice?
Take a free timed mock test
Put what you learned into practice. Our mock tests match the 2026 pattern with timer, navigator, reveal, and score breakdown. No signup.